Leadership Through Philanthropy

The Community Foundation of West Chester/Liberty hosted the first of an annual speaker series, Leadership Through Philanthropy, on Thursday June 8, 2017 at the Holiday Inn Centre Park in West Chester. Heather Abbott, survivor of the 2013 Boston Marathon attack, headlined the evening as keynote speaker. The Foundation presented the findings of its Community Needs Assessment and awarded the Patricia F. Alderson Philanthropist of the Year Award to local philanthropists Bill and Jenny McCloy.

The theme of the event highlighted the impact of philanthropy, bringing it to the forefront of community dialogue.

“We are excited to celebrate charitable giving with Leadership Through Philanthropy,” said Community Foundation president and CEO Erin Clemons. “Our hope is that the event will continue to be inspirational, and generate discussion about how local philanthropy can make a positive impact in West Chester and Liberty Township.”

Heather Abbott

After losing her leg in the Boston Marathon bombing in 2013, Heather Abbott created the Heather Abbott Foundation which helps provide customized prostheses to those who have suffered limb loss through traumatic injury, with a special focus on women and young girls. She shares her story of resilience following tragedy, inspiring fellow amputees and others to make a difference and live a meaningful life despite obstacles.

Community Needs Assessment

The results of the Foundation's Community Needs Assessment were announced at the Leadership Through Philanthropy event. The final Community Needs Assessment Report outlines opportunities in the region where philanthropy can create meaningful results. Following a Community Needs Summit held in December, the three identified areas of focus are local transportation and accessibility, education, and workforce development.

Patricia F. Alderson Philanthropist of the Year Award

The Patricia F. Alderson Philanthropist of the Year Award was established in 2015 in honor of the Community Foundation's founder and Board Chair Emeritus, Patti Alderson. The award is presented annually to a local philanthropist who has shown exceptional dedication to improving the community through time, talent, and treasure. The 2016 recipients, Bill and Jenny McCloy, are supporters of many impactful organizations and programs, and have made a significant difference through their work to support adults with disabilities in the Cincinnati area.